• Hello Visitors

    Welcome to my blog.

    Please visit often and leave comments.

    Posting will be at undefined intervals and will be with a Christian theme.

    It will also be about Christian Books

    Thank you for reading this and please do enjoy my blog and participate.

    Please comment if you visit and benefit from what you read. Feedback is an encouragement to write. !!!

    Now the Legal Bit.
    © Jeff Maxwell 1950 onwards
    All rights are reserved.
    All original work by J Maxwell including Edited and Adapted work is copyright, but may be used in a non-comercial way PROVIDING that it is correctly attributed and that this copyright is added. A link or reference to the original article should be provided.

  • Meta

PERSONAL HOLINESS

PERSONAL HOLINESS

Come and hear, all ye that fear God, and I will declare what he hath done for my soul. I cried unto him with my mouth, and he was extolled with my tongue.  If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord will not hear me: But verily God hath heard me; he hath attended to the voice of my prayer. Blessed be God, which hath not turned away my prayer, nor his mercy from me.   Psalm 66:16-20

Blest are the pure in heart: for they shall see God Matt 5:8

 Personal Holiness, the progression of our Sanctification is vitally important in our personal relationship with God and His Son Jesus Christ. If we can discover iniquity in our hearts how much more can the Omniscient, Infallible, Almighty One. Sin of any nature hinders our relationship with God. Yes, he accepts us in Christ Jesus, His holiness is set down to our account, BUT that does not mean we have licence to live as we please and continue in known sin. A humble, contrite, repentant, heart the Lord will not refuse. 

And if any man sin, we have an advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous: 1 John 2:1

And now, little children, abide in him; that, when he shall appear, we may have confidence, and not be ashamed before him at his coming.  If ye know that he is righteous, ye know that every one that doeth righteousness is born of him.    1 John 2:28-29

Does this not mean we need to reflect each day on all our actions, reactions, and even what we failed to do, that is, all acts of commission and omission, and not only acts, but thoughts and motives as well. Some would say that that is far, far to introspective, and yes it can be carried far,  but that is not the general danger in this environment of hedonism, self pleasing and unaccountability in which we live today.
Human nature does not like to be answerable to any one, lest of all Almighty God. This is one part of our Old Nature that often lingers on and we help it to, by closing our minds, overlooking and not calling into question, those things in our lives that offend God.  A degree of introspection, self analysis, and self examination is necessary in the healthy Christians life.
If we do not do this, how shall we progress and grow in personal holiness? How shall we root out and put to flight those sins of actions, thoughts, and motives?  How shall we meaningfully repent and pray for forgiveness other than in a general superficial way? How shall we guard ourselves in the future if we do not arm ourselves from the past?  We need precious remedies against Satan’s devices and arming ourselves with a knowledge of ourselves is a great asset.  David was well aware of God’s nature and His knowledge of himself…

O LORD, thou hast searched me, and known me. Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar off.  Thou compassest  my path and my lying down, and art acquainted with all my ways. For there is not a word in my tongue, but, lo, O LORD, thou knowest it altogether. Thou hast beset me behind and before, and laid thine hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high, I cannot attain unto it.  Ps 139:1-6

 AND YET at the end of the Psalm his prayer is..

 Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: And see if there be any wicked  way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting. Psalm 139:23-24
 

Surely David’s reason for this prayer is not that God alone may know these things, but that God would show David these things as he reflects upon his life so that he may amend his life, actions, thoughts, and motives?

May our gracious God bless you as you seek to walk with Him.

©Jeff Maxwell  2011

One Response

  1. Praise God for His work in us making us like His son

    Like

TY FOR READING. LOVE TO HAVE A REPLY PLEASE

