• Hello Visitors

    Welcome to my blog.

    Please visit often and leave comments.

    Posting will be at undefined intervals and will be with a Christian theme.

    It will also be about Christian Books

    Thank you for reading this and please do enjoy my blog and participate.

    Please comment if you visit and benefit from what you read. Feedback is an encouragement to write. !!!

    Now the Legal Bit.
    © Jeff Maxwell 1950 onwards
    All rights are reserved.
    All original work by J Maxwell including Edited and Adapted work is copyright, but may be used in a non-comercial way PROVIDING that it is correctly attributed and that this copyright is added. A link or reference to the original article should be provided.

  • Meta

Human Frailty and God’s Reliability

When we came back from Spain recently, I uploaded my pictures to my computer and decided to make some more original Christian Posters to magnify the Lord our God.

This is a start and I will publish some more in the days to come.

If you like them, please encourage my, by saying so.

The Lord is good in giving us rest and refreshment for our sometimes weary bodies, indeed holidays are a good time to reflect and recuperate.

Some of you may know I was made redundant nearly two months ago, after 45 years of almost continuous work. Now is a time of change so I would ask you to pray with me that the Lord would guide me in the days to come regarding the direction my life should take now. One of the difficult things to know is the mind of the Lord and then to actively follow the pathway He sets before us. Change like this not only affects the individual but also affects those who are closely connected with them.

I was asked by the careers adviser to assess my skills and estimate my strengths and benefits to a future employer in a different sphere than I have been used to. I find great difficulty in doing this, as I believe that ones own estimate of oneself can err so easily, either to think more highly of oneself than one ought or to underestimate our character and attainments. The idea of selling myself to others is somewhat alien to my way of thinking.

Well enough of me; but these recent days  have reminded me of the prevenient grace of our God, not in the Arminian sense, but in the sense that God goes before and provides before for our future needs. It occurred to me that we are seldom thankful enough for what God has already done for us.

Our prayers are taken up with what we desire God to do for us in the future rather than reflecting on and praising Him for what he has already done. Our situations could be far worse than they are but for His intervention in the past and the supply of that grace and those things which we have need of.

How great it is to read “He knoweth the way that I take” and “Before they call I will answer” and “My God shall supply all our needs” and “I being in the Way the Lord led me”.

He has fulfilled these great promises in the past so we can be confident that He will in the future. That is one way of looking at the future, but a better way is to exercise faith and believe that, merely because He has said that He will do these things, He will do them !

When we have faith like this it does not matter about our past experiences because Faith will lead us to higher ground. God’s Word and His Precious Promises are more reliable than our previous experiences and a far better ground to rest upon.

But without faith it is impossible to please him:

for he that cometh to God must
believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of
them that diligently seek him.  

Hebrews 11:6

© Jeff Maxwell 2012

3 Responses

  1. Praying for you in all the decisions regarding your future.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    Many are the plans in a person’s heart,
    but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.
    Proverbs 19:21

    Like

TY FOR READING. LOVE TO HAVE A REPLY PLEASE

